top of page

A Metal-heads’ reaction to “The Hunts”

Photos by Ashlyn Carroll

A little while ago the Hunts came here to SVU to give a concert. This is not the first time they’ve been

here. Last year they came, and despite the wishes of my girlfriend of the time, I decided it would

probably be lame and didn’t go. She was mad. And if I heard correctly, the Hunts mentioned in their

concert that they had been here before that. This year, I did not miss out on the chance to make the

woman of my life happy, and decided a concert would be a wonderful date.

There are several pieces of rock concert etiquette that I may write an article on later. One principle that

definitely applies here is to do your research. Go to the concert prepared, having listened to at least one

album from every participating band. I’m happy to say I did so, and even found one song I really liked

(This is Love) and was looking forward to hearing live.

As I mentioned before, the concert was really good. I was really surprised. They are a really talented

family. I mean, Jamison is only 17, and he holds his own with his older siblings. It was fun to see good

on-stage charisma with all of the band members. Based on this concert alone, I can’t really point to a

specific front, or lead stereotype person. The one stand out on stage presence is Jordan on the drums,

carrying on the noble tradition of all drummers by being the wildest and most energetic human being in

the show.

One of the real treats that we were graced with was two or three new songs that will hopefully be

making an appearance on their new album. I have no idea what their song titles are. There is one stand

out song that involves two of the band members smacking out a sweet rhythm on a dining room chair of

all things. And that is one of the great things about the Hunts music. They have a distinct folkish sound,

but they are playing enough different instruments and have enough interesting rhythms that each song

feels distinct, fresh and new.

This is the part of any review that I hate, the criticisms I feel obligated to level at any enjoyable

experience. The first one is actually aimed at you SVU. We had a great band come and tell us they don’t

like a sitting audience. And we stood up and did…….nothing. SVU, when a band wants a standing

audience that is them giving you permission to get hopping, start singing, be waltzing with our

sweethearts and in general moving in a silly yet fun way. Live bands feed off of the energy of their

audience. The Hunts already bring a great energy. We need to do more than just cheer and clap after

each song. It’s not a pep rally, it’s a concert. Don’t be so self-conscious and move.

Next, for all that I love the Hunts sound, they made what I feel is a kind of major mistake that I have

seen a lot of hard rock bands do. The balance wasn’t quite right for the venue. Unfortunately, one of the

costs of having wonderfully wild live percussionists is that they often have a tendency to drown out the

other instruments in an indoor setting. I would personally have preferred to have the other instruments,

especially the piano, turned up so they didn’t occasionally get overwhelmed by the percussion.

In closing, the Hunts was a great concert. Their new album looks to be only improving on an already

solid sound, adding some much needed up-tempo higher energy songs and a truly beautiful ballad.

Minor complaints aside, it was a wonderful date night, gifted to me by a wonderful band. If they come

back next year, and I hope they do, let’s be a better audience. If you didn’t go this time, then be there

next time. They deserve your support SVU.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page